Past Recipients

2018 Recipients

Genevieve Cottrell & Team

Genevieve Cottrell

Genevieve Cottrell is a Chemical Safety Officer in Environmental Health & Safety. In this capacity, she supervises five employees. The nomination packet evidenced the personal care and support Cottrell provides through her leadership. One letter of support stated, "She is observant, is aware of our strengths and weaknesses, which allow her to help us build our skill sets." Another letter referenced the pride she brings to her employees, which stated, "I often attend meetings with her and every time she speaks as my supervisor, she both impresses me and makes us proud to call her leader. With Gen at the helm, it is easy to stay the course." The nomination and letters of support made it clear that Cottrell honors the work-life fit of those she supervises. 


Terry Curry & Team

Terry Curry

Terry Curry is the Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic Human Resources. In this capacity, he supervises four employees. According to the testimonies expressed in the nomination packet, Curry creates a supportive and “family like” work environment for his employees. Nominators for Curry’s award highlighted his respect for those he supervises and his ability to create a humanizing work environment. One letter of support stated, “His working style and compassionate personality has created a work environment that fosters a genuine understanding and value of each of our personal lives.” Another letter stated, “He continues to show me every day that he cares about me as a person, and not just as an employee. His actions show that he trusts me as the professional that he hired.”


Kirk Domer & Team

Kirk Domer 

Kirk Domer is an Associate Professor in Scene Design and is the Chairperson of the Department of Theatre. In this capacity, he supervises 28 employees. “He celebrates success, rewards a job well done and creates an environment that honors each and every person,” wrote a nominator. Domer is known on his team for acknowledging and appreciating everyone’s contributions to the department. Another letter of support stated, “He is the most caring, compassionate, supportive administrator I have met in my 33 years of employment at MSU.” It is evident from the nomination and support letters that Domer has created a supportive and flexible work environment.



Richard Lenski & Team

Richard Lenski

Richard Lenski is a Hannah Distinguished Professor in Plant, Soil, and Microbial Sciences. In this capacity, he supervises 18 employees. One letter in the nomination packet stated, “Dr. Lenski’s approach to the profession begins and ends with a truly unconditional and unbounded commitment to the well-being and best interest of everyone in his life.” Additional letters of support made it clear that Dr. Lenski creates a welcoming environment and supports everyone he works with. Another letter of support stated, “He is the most compassionate person you would ever meet.” The nomination packet demonstrated the many qualities that make Dr. Lenski an outstanding supervisor.



Elizabeth Simmons & Team

Elizabeth Simmons

Elizabeth Simmons is the former Dean of Lyman Briggs College and former Coordinator of the Academic Advancement Network. In these roles, she supervised 50 employees. According to the nomination packet, “She emphasizes a work-life balance for those under her supervision, and models this herself.” Additional letters of support for Dr. Simmons highlighted her ability to empower and support her staff and faculty—working with “dignity, respect and integrity.” One letter of support stated, “Under Dean Simmons’ leadership, Lyman Briggs has developed a work culture of respect and inclusion.” (Dr. Simmons recently took a position at another university. We wish her the best in her new role.)



Andrew Widner & Team


Andrew Widner

Andrew Widner is the Assistant Director of Finance and Operations for the Kellogg Biological Station. In this capacity, he supervises six employees. The nomination packet for Widner included statements such as, “He is patient, yet holds people accountable for their success. He takes personal interest in each person’s success and how he can help them achieve their best,” “Not only is he teaching me new skills, but he is leading by example,” and “Andy embodies the definition of trust. He has an intense loyalty to his direct reports.” Throughout the letters of support, it was evident that Widner manages his staff with flexibility and trust. Many people who wrote letters told personal stories about how meaningful his understanding of their unique circumstances was and how it helped them succeed at their jobs.



2017 Recipients

Diane Cox, Manager of the Office of Sponsored Programs; Terry Curry, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic Human Resources; Kirk Domer, Associate Professor in Scene Design and is the Chairperson of the Department of Theatre; Richard Lenski, Hannah Distinguished Professor in Plant, Soil, and Microbial Sciences; Elizabeth Simmons, Dean of Lyman Briggs College and former Coordinator of the Academic Advancement Network; Andrew Widner, Assistant Director of Finance and Operations for the Kellogg Biological Station

2016 Recipients

Karen Crosby, College of Human Medicine Dean’s Office; Amy Driver, Department of Enterprise Information Stewardship; Sherman Garnett, James Madison College; Jessica Nakfour, MSU Extension Director’s Office; Jeremy Wilson, Center for Anti-Counterfeiting and Product Protection & School of Criminal Justice

2015 Recipients

John Gerlach, Biomed Lab Diagnostics; Gladys Raymond, Sponsored Programs; Nancy Schmitt, Nursing

2014 Recipients

Michael Gardner, Culinary Services; Shawn Kelly, Infrastructure, Planning & Facilities; Judith McMillan, Regulatory Affairs; Gary Roloff, Fisheries & Wildlife; Holly Rosen, MSU Safe Place

2013 Recipients

Eunice Hoeve, Plant Research Lab; Dana Infante, Fisheries & Wildlife; Jason Vallance, IPF Commissioning Services; Pauline VanDyke, Electrical & Computer Engineering

2011 Recipients

Amy Blair, Libraries; Steve Bolin, Pathobiology; Kent Cassella, Communications; John L. Thelen, Controller

2010 Recipients

Burton Bargerstock, University Outreach and Engagement; David Gift, IT Services CIO; Dwight Handspike, Broad College of Business; Eileen Haraminac, Extension Health & Nutrition; Michael Hudson; Resource Center for Persons with Disabilities; Renee Rivard, Human Resources; Mary Thiel, Radiology

2009 Recipients

David B. Brower, Controller; Chris Hanna, Human Resources; Ann Hoffman, Communication Arts & Sciences; Dennis Martell, Student Health Center; Jane Randolph, Broad College of Business

2008 Recipients

Dan Bollman, IPF; Lynnette Forman, Police & Public Safety; Marie Monroe, College of Human Medicine; Jessica Moy, Remote Sensing & Geographic Information Science

2007 Recipients

Chris JensonGeoff HumphreysKaren PlautJamie Sue Willard SmithPhyllis BukovcikKaren Pearl

2006 Recipients

Estelle McGroartySharon AndersonCurtis Olson

2005 Recipients

Mary Elaine WebsterPatricia LowrieKelley Bishop

2004 Recipients

Don DonagrandiCheryl SiskBrenda ParoliniMona EllardHelen DashneyDouglas Estry

2003 Recipients

Pam BellamyJoan PredkoTim ZekoMarti HeilCharles WebbJim Cotter

2002 Recipients

Ken CrowellKaren McKnight CaseyLarry HembroffMaynard Hogberg

2001 Recipients

John LewisLarry SierraLinda SighMark SimmonsCheryl WhitmanKeith WilliamsEileen Wilson

Note: titles and units listed are reflective of the time at which the supervisor received the award; this list is not updated to reflect up-to-date positions/units of these individuals.